SPELL LOVE

leader-teaching-primary-children

On a bright Sunday morning during Sunday school, a Sunday school teacher asked her pupils to spell love. They all got up one after the other and spelt L-O-V-E in the midst of it all they all clapped for each other cheered each other up. It went on till it got to the turn of 5 year old Tom, Tom had a well-trimmed hair, neatly tucked in shirt, a brown brogues with brown leather belt to match, he also had an incredible accent and a well groomed English all showing Tom received lots of care and went to a very standard school. Tom when it was his turn to spell love spelt it as T-I-M-E, at the sound of this, the whole class burst out laughing except for his curious Sunday school teacher who thought someone of that calibre wouldn’t spell love as such. And so she asked him why he spelt love as T-I-M-E. With tears in his eyes Tom replied, “My nanny does all my upbringing from cooking to taking to bed to taking me to school, she does everything. My parents are always out on several trips, they are never around. They say they love me anytime they call me but never have my TIME.” The Sunday school teacher with tears in her eyes by then asked little Tom to take his seat.
If you were asked to spell love would it be L-O-V-E or probably it would be G-I-F-T, or K-I-S-S or maybe S-E-X. It might even be V-A-L-E-N-T-I-N-E or would you go with that little boy and say T-I-M-E? Something about time is that it is your most precious gift because you only have a set amount of it. You can make more money, more friends, acquire more cars, more degrees but you can never make more time. We often say time is life, hence when you give someone or something your time, you are giving them a part of your life that you would never get back. This is why the greatest gift you can give someone is your time. The importance of things can be measured by how much time we are willing to invest in them. The more time you give to something or someone, the more you reveal their importance and value to you. If you want to know a person’s priorities, just look at how they spend their time.
Saying a relationship matters to you is not enough, prove it by investing your time in it. Like in the case of little Tom, words are worthless. Love isn’t just what we do or give to others but how much of ourselves we are willing to give. A whole lot of people have missed this and nag about their relationship and family. They say “what else do you want, don’t I provide you with all you need?” No you don’t! Your family wants you!! Your loved ones want your attention, your presence, your focus. Nothing can take the place of that. Sometimes we act as if relationships are something to be squeezed into our schedule. Relationships, not achievements or the acquisition of things are what matter most in life. Busyness is a great enemy of relationships. We become preoccupied with making a living, doing our work, paying bills, and accomplishing goals as if these are the point of life. They are not. The point of life is learning to love-God and people. Focused attention is more precious than diamonds and roses. When you give someone your attention you are saying “I value you enough to give you my most precious asset-my time” Remember the most important things in life are not things.
Peradventure the only time you show love is during the Christmas or Valentine, then you haven’t learnt how to love. And in case you are so caught up with acquiring and achieving that you neglect people in the process, it’s never too late to turn a new leaf. You need to be at the bedside of any person in their final moments, when they stand on the edge of eternity, you would never hear anyone say “bring me my diplomas! I want to look at them one more time. Show me my awards and medals. Park my Rolls Royce just opposite me there”. When life on earth is ending, people don’t surround themselves with objects. What they want is people-people they love and have relationships with. In our final moments we realize that relationships are what life is all about. Wisdom is learning that truth sooner rather than later. Don’t wait until you are on your deathbed to figure out that nothing matters more.
Love is also a sacrifice because love is giving up your comfort, goals, security, money, energy or time for the benefit of someone else. As I round off I want you to ask yourself these questions. Who do I need to start spending more time with? What do I need to cut out of my schedule to make that possible? What sacrifices do I need to make?
The best use of life is love. The best expression of love is time. The best time to love is now!

6 thoughts on “SPELL LOVE

Leave a Reply

